Skip to content Skip to navigation
Resources and Information on COVID-19 Ask a Question

Graduate Student Association Elections

Congratulations to the upcoming 2019-2020 administration!

Please join us for the 2019-2020 inauguration on Monday, May 13th at 05:30pm in The Pavilion, Room 104.

The outcome of the 2019 election is as follows:

Executive Council

President [1]

Brandon Batzloff (CIS) &
Panikkassery Sugasree (Physics)

Internal Vice President Vicky Espinoza (ES)
External Vice President Alexandria Pabst (CIS)
Academic Affairs Officer Matthew Turner (CIS)
Treasurer Shayna Bennett (App. Math)
Internal Communications Officer  -
Public Relations/
Community Outreach Officer
Tafadzwa Joseph Dube (EECS)
International Affairs Officer [1] Ahmed Correa Alavarez (IH)  &
Feng Yu (QSB)
Climate, Diversity,
and Equity Officer
Maria Ramirez
Loyola (Psychology)

[1]: The top 2 candidates for President and International Affairs Officer decided to combine their votes in order to have the majority required for election. These offices will be a joint appointment, with one vote shared between both students in each office.


Delegate Assembly

Chemistry &
Chemical Biology
Cognitive &
Information Sciences
Shannon Proksch
Interdisciplinary Humanities Ekta Kandhway
Mechanical Engineering Farhana Sharmin
Physics Albert Dibenedetto
Political Science Dylan Moses
Psychological Science Janice Disla
Public Health Shaina Santa Cruz
Applied Mathematics (elected within grad group)
Bioengineering &
Small Scale Technologies
(elected within grad group)
Electrical Engineering &
Computer Science
(elected within grad group)
Environmental Systems (elected within grad group)
Quantitative & Systems Biology (elected within grad group)
Sociology (elected within grad group)




UC Merced Graduate Student Association Election Criterion and Timeline

Statement of decorum

As future faculty and professionals, we are setting an example to our student body and thus need to be democratic about this process.
Expectations of nominees and affiliates

No one should feel unsafe to nominate, run, or vote for the candidate of their choice. Peers are allowed to endorse nominees. However, the spread of rumors and/or shaming of any nominee or affiliate is unacceptable and will be reprimanded. Monetary approaches to nominee endorsement or campaigning are also prohibited.

A “Meet the Candidates” voting party will take place on a date and time TBD. Facilitators of the event are current officers who will not be running again.

Nominees must be currently enrolled as a full-time student at UC Merced this semester in order to run, a simple majority is needed to be elected. Nominees must declare potential conflicts of interest with other nominees (i.e. relatedness, significant others, and/or being a part of the same research group). If there is a tie, the current Executive Council and Delegate Assembly will vote on a candidate with ⅔ majority needed for election. A student can only hold one role and will need to choose if elected for two or more roles.

Students elected will meet with the current GSA prior to August 2019 to discuss transitions and graduate student needs. Students elected will meet with nominees who were not elected to encourage community-oriented conversations and discourage hostility within the student body.

Please forward violations of these election criterion to Grad Division at or

If you feel harassed or targeted, please contact the UC Merced Ombuds Office 209-228-4410

Comments and suggestions are welcome at

Election Timeline

Nominations: April 19st - May 3rd
Nomination acceptance period: April 19st - May 3rd
Elections: May 8th - May 10th
Voting Party: May 9th
Voting Results: Week of May 12th
Inauguration: Monday, May 13th

All nominations should be sent to Tawana Parks at

The following positions for Executive Council are open for nominations: 

  • President 
  • Internal Vice President 
  • External Vice President 
  • Academic Affairs Officer 
  • Internal Communications Officer
  • Treasurer 
  • Public Relations/Community Outreach Officer 
  • International Affairs Officer 
  • Climate, Diversity and Equity Officer

The following positions for Delegate Assembly are open for nominations in this election: 

  • Chemistry and Chemical Biology
  • Cognitive & Information Sciences
  • Interdisciplinary Humanities
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Psychological Sciences
  • Public Health

The following positions for Delegate Assembly will be elected through the respective graduate student club:

  • Applied Mathematics
  • Bioengineering & Small Scale Technologies
  • Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
  • Environmental Systems
  • Quantitative & Systems Biology
  • Sociology

Delegate Assembly elections will elect both the primary and alternate delegates

Votes will be tallied and the winner will be the one with a 50% + 1 vote.

If no candidate receives a majority of votes, the candidate with the most votes (plurality) will be recommended to the new Delegate Assembly for appointment by the sitting executive board.

Thank you! We look forward to working with you on building our next graduate leadership team.